Plutchik's Wheel

Plutchik's Wheel

What is it?

Plutchik's Wheel is a tool that helps you visualize the different emotions that people can experience.

Plutchik's Wheel of Emotions is a model developed by psychologist Robert Plutchik in 1980 to help visualize and understand the complex relationships between different emotions. The wheel is designed like a flower, with eight primary emotions positioned as petals around the center. These primary emotions are:

  1. Joy
  2. Trust
  3. Fear
  4. Surprise
  5. Sadness
  6. Disgust
  7. Anger
  8. Anticipation

The emotions are paired in opposites, with joy and sadness, trust and disgust, fear and anger, and surprise and anticipation placed across from each other on the wheel.

Plutchik's Wheel also illustrates that emotions can vary in intensity. For example, a milder form of anger might be annoyance, while a more intense form could be fury. The closer an emotion is to the center of the wheel, the stronger it is.

In addition to the primary emotions, Plutchik's Wheel demonstrates that emotions can mix to form secondary emotions. For example:

  • Joy and trust combine to form love.
  • Trust and fear combine to form submission.
  • Fear and surprise combine to form awe.
  • Surprise and sadness combine to form disapproval.
  • Sadness and disgust combine to form remorse.
  • Disgust and anger combine to form con ...