Erikson's stages of Development

Erikson's stages of Development

What is it?

Erikson's Stages of Development is a psychological theory proposed by Erik Erikson. It outlines a series of eight stages, each associated with a specific age range, during which individuals face unique psychosocial challenges. Successfully navigating these challenges contributes to healthy personality development and identity formation. These stages span from infancy to late adulthood and address issues such as trust vs. mistrust, identity vs. role confusion, and generativity vs. stagnation, among others. Erikson's theory emphasizes the lifelong process of self-discovery and personal growth.

Erikson's Stages of Development is like a roadmap for how people grow and learn about themselves throughout life. Imagine it as a series of checkpoints we pass as we age, and at each checkpoint, we face a different challenge.

Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial DevelopmentPractical Psychology

Infancy (0-1 year): Trust vs. Mistrust

Challenge: Learning to trust the people who take care of us.

Example: A baby needs to feel safe and loved by their caregivers. If they are well cared for, they learn to trust others.

Toddlerhood (1-3 years): Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt

Challenge: Developing independence while still relying on others.

Example: Toddlers want to do things themselves, like dressing or feeding. If they're encouraged, they become more confident.

Preschool (3-6 years): Initiative vs. Guilt

Challenge: Starting to take the initiative in play and learning.

Example: Children may want to explore new activities. If they're supported, they develop a sense of purpose.

Elementary School (6-12 years): Industry vs. Inferiority

**Challenge ...